Engines of Commerce




When I sent an email to Mr. Gardner, I already assume that he will not reply to my email because he’s busy and who am I for him to reply. I’m only a student and HE IS MR. HOWARD GARDNER THE PROPONENT OF MULTIPLE INTELLIGENCES. I was very surprised until now, I can feel that kilig factor because he replied to me. Wishing me luck to my studies. He’s a very down to earth man that even “just me”, he still took time to read my email and reply to it.

SIR ROM! What am I suppose to do next? 😀 huhu :)))

View original post

Sine Panitik 2 Scripwriting Contest Extended

Sine Panitik 2 Scripwriting Contest Extended.

The deadline for submission of entries to the Second Sine Panitik Scriptwriting contest has been extended to September 30, a Tuesday.

Scriptwriters who still wish to join the contest can adapt from a list of 22 classic Filipino short stories—13 in English and 9 in Tagalog.

sine panitik 2

Like the First Sine Panitik contest, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) is again providing a P400,000 subsidy to take care of the prizes for the six winning adaptations and royalties for the authors of the stories adapted in the winning entries.

The rules for the Second Sine Panitik Scriptwriting Contest. These are:

1. The Sine Panitik Scriptwriting Contest is open to all scriptwriters, students or professionals.
2. The screenplays must be adapted from 22 Filipino short stories (13 written in English and nine in Tagalog), listed hereunder:
The short stories in English are as follows:

Children of the Ash-Covered Loam by NVM Gonzales
Dead Stars by Paz Marquez Benitez
How My Brother Leon Brought Home a Wife by Manuel E. Arguilla
Midsummer by Miguel Arguilla
My Brother’s Peculiar Chicken by Alejandro R. Roces
My Father Goes to Court by Carlos Bulosan
The Bread of Salt by NVM Gonzales
and The Mats by Francisco Arcellana;

For the years 2000 and up:
In Transit by Rebecca E. Khan
Shut Up and Live by Lakambini Sitoy
The Death of Fray Salvador Montero by Rosario Ma. Lucero
The Woman in the Box by Jose Dalisay Jr.
and We Won’t Cry About This by Socorro Villanueva.

The short stories in Tagalog are as follows:
Banyaga ni Liwayway A. Arceo
Lugmok na ang Nayon ni Edgardo M. Reyes
May Buhay sa Looban ni Pedro S. Dandan
Suyuan sa Tubigan ni Macario Pineda

For the years 2000 and up:
Ang Apo ni Lola Soledad ni Edgardo Maranan
Apokalipsis ni Alvin B. Yapan
Apong Simon ni Reynaldo Duque
Sandosenang Sapatos ni Luis Gatmaitan
at Si Intoy Syokoy ng Kalye Marino ni Eros S. Atalia.

3. The screenplay adaptation for each short story may have a running time of 30 to 40 minutes. The adapted screenplays will form a trilogy for a feature-length film.
4. Dialogues must be in Tagalog (which means translation of dialogues in the 13 English short stories). Shooting direction may be in English or Tagalog.
5. Entrants may submit multiple entries. The scriptwriter will use a pen name in the submitted manuscript. In a sealed envelope, he/she must write his/her real name, the pen name and the title of the story which was adapted.
6. Contest entrants retain all rights to their screenplays. Entries will not be returned. Be sure to retain a copy of all material submitted.
7. By agreeing to these Terms and Conditions, you agree that you have read the General Rules of the contest and that you have the authorization to submit this screenplay to the Sine Panitik Contest.
8. Submit four hard copies of the screenplay to the Film Academy Office at the Mowelfund Compound 66 Rosaro Drive corner Ilang-Ilang St., Barangay Immaculate Concpcion, Cubao (beside the College of the Holy Spirit campus).
9. Entries may also be sent thru e-mail to: But four hard copies must still be submitted.

A three-man board of judges will choose the six best screenplays adapted from seven different short stories. Each winning screenplay will receive P20,000.00 (subject to withholding taxes). The scriptwriters, however, will still receive talent fees as scriptwriters during the production of the Sine Panitik film trilogies.

The first scriptwriting contest featured seven winning adaptations of three stories in English and four in Tagalog. Three of these stories had already been translated into film, namely, Faith, Love, Time and Dr. Lazaro by Gregorio Brillantes, Tata Selo ni Rogelio Sicat and Sandaang Damit ni Fanny Garcia.

The film, with the omnibus title Tres (Lazaro, Tata Selo at 100 Damit), is now in the post-production stage. The directors for the three stories are Jose N. Carreon for Dr. Lazaro, William Mayo for Tata Selo and Edgardo ‘Boy’ Vinarao for Sandaang Damit.